Association of Open University Graduates


AOUG 2015 Awards

The AOUG Foundation for Education celebrated the ground breaking research being carried out at The Open University by presenting five Awards at our Research Awards Ceremony on Friday, 2nd October 2015 in the Michael Young building at the OU campus in Milton Keynes.

Each Award winner was introduced by their Supervisor or Head of Department before AOUG Chairman, Margaret Stobirski, presented their Research Award.
The winners were:

AOUG Vice-Chancellor Professor Brenda Gourley Award for Business Studies
Charles Mbalyohere
Corporate Political Activity (CPA) in Uganda’s Electricity Industry and its Implications for Emerging Institutions
Supervisor Dr Roshan Boojihawon, Visiting Fellow, Open University Business School

AOUG Vice-Chancellor Sir John Daniel Award for Education and Language Studies
Alison Gallagher
Blended Learning: An exploration of the experiences of lecturers and students in post qualification nurse education
Supervisor Professor Judith Lathlean, Professor of Health Research, University of Southampton

AOUG Will Swann Award for Innovation and Knowledge Development
Craig Walker
Rebuilding Societies After Civil War: The Effects of Political Participation on Conflict Transformation. A Case Study of Mozambique & Nepal
Supervisor Professor Giles Mohan, Engineering and Innovation Department, Faculty of Maths, Computing and Technology

AOUG Baroness Lee of Asheridge Award for Mathematics, Computing and Technology
Matthew Jacques
Hyperbolic geometry
Professor Uwe Grimm, Head of Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Faculty of Maths, Computing and Technology

AOUG Vice-Chancellor Sir John Horlock Award for Science
Helen Davidge
Probing galaxy evolution using the AKARI Space Telescope
Supervisor Dr Stephen Serjeant, Faculty of Science

As Craig Walker was the first winner of the AOUG Will Swann Award, a special message was read out from Will, who was OU Director Students for eight years. Following the presentation of the Research Awards, Karen Chandler (née Bradbury) who retired from the OU in December 2014, was presented with an Honorary Life Membership of AOUG for all her support of the Association. Lucian Hudson, OU Director of Communications, finished by talking about Research at the OU. He praised the Award winners for putting something back into the wider OU research community. A large audience of Award winners, their Supervisors, family, friends, OU staff and students and AOUG members looked at the displays and enjoyed a buffet lunch, before 're-grouping' for the Foundation Lecture.