Sir John Horlock


AOUG Sir John Horlock Award for Science

Sir John Horlock FREng born April 1928  Vice-Chancellor, 1981-90

Sir John Horlock is an authority on turbomachinery and power plants and his books on axial compressors, axial turbines, actuator disk theory, combined heat and power and combined power plants are widely used and cited. He founded Whittle Laboratory at Cambridge in 1973 and acted as its first Director. He was the Vice-Chancellor firstly at Salford University and subsequently of the Open University. Sir John has been an advisor to Government and industry for forty years and has been a non-executive director of several UK companies. He was recently Treasurer and Vice-President of the Royal Society and was knighted for services to science, engineering and education in 1996.

2013 recipient Marcus Lohr

Previous Winners
2013 Marcus Lohr
2012 Liam Steele
2011 Ian Williamson
2010 Andrew Mason
2009 Rosalind Hopwood
2008 Suzanne Simmons
2007 Claire Kotecki
2006 Amanda Smith
2005 No recipient
2004 Jayne Turner
2003 Ashley Seabrook
2002 John Barker
2001 Mark Gardener
2000 Sharon Moore
1999 Andrew Bedder
1998 No recipient
1997 Jill Clarke
1996 Clive Roberts
1995 Peter Taylor
1994 Peter Stokes
1993 Stephen Hopkins
1992 Bob Steele
1991 Jill Eyres

The AOUG is a Company Limited by Guarantee - registered Number 3776406