AGM Elections

The Executive Committee of the Association of Open University Graduates is democratically elected by its current membership. Each post can be held for a three year period and one third of the Executive Committee demit office each year in rotation in accordance with the regulations set out in the Memorandum and Articles and Standing Orders.

Posts due for election are advertised in the previous Winter’s OMEGA and members are invited to submit nominations. Ballot papers for postal voting are then supplied with the Spring edition of OMEGA.

When an elected member resigns before the end of their term of office or no candidate was nominated for election, then by-elections are also held, governed by the same regulations.

Elections for candidates to take up office from the end of the 2021 AGM on Saturday 15th May 2021 have taken place. The full Returning Officer’s Report dated 9th May 2021 was read out at the AGM on 15th May 2021 which was an online meeting on Zoom. All those who have been successful in a full term election are eligible to serve for three years, whilst those standing for a By-election brought about by the previous need for mid-term co-option serve a shorter period to complete the normal three year cycle.

However having already notified all the candidates, we can now announce that the following members were duly Elected or Co-opted to the following positions:

Chairman:  Derrick Franks (2021 – 2024)

Treasurer: Margaret Stobirski (2021-2023)

Development Officer: Lesley Sleigh (2021 – 2023)

Publicity Officer:  Mary Niblett (2021- 2022) – Co-opted

Executive Representative for Region 01: – London and South East – Leo McKee (2021 – 2022)

Executive Representative for Region 03: – South West – Elizabeth Ashcroft (2021 – 2023)

Executive Representative for Region 04: – West Midlands Mohammad Motawalla (2021 – 2022) Co-opted

Executive Representative for Region 05 – East Midlands – Briony Dickinson (2021-2022)

Executive Representative for Region 09 – North – Violet Rook (2021-2024)

The Relevant reference relating to the cycle for election from Standing Orders is shown below: 

1. In accordance with Resolutions passed at the 1998 AGM, the posts on the Executive Committee are divided into three groups as follows:

Group 1.          Treasurer, Development Officer.
Executive Representatives R02, R03, R04 and R13.
Group 2.          Chairman, Publicity Officer.
Executive Representatives R08, R09, N11 and N12.
Group 3.          Vice-Chairman
Executive Representatives R01, R05, R06, R07 and N10.

2. Starting with the 1999 Elections each of these three groups is elected in turn for a three year term of office, and this three year cycle then repeats until further notice.  That is, Group 1 elected in 1999, Group 2 elected in 2000, Group 3 elected in 2001, Group 1 elected in 2002, and so on.