AOUG Awards

(See below for the AOUG Foundation for Education Award Recipients)

History of Awards

The AOUG Foundation for Education

The AOUG Foundation for Education is a registered charity set up by the AOUG for the purpose of supporting the Open University by granting Awards for students both for OU Research Students and for new Graduates in the Regions, Nations and even in the Rest of the World. The Foundation aims to “Advance education by making grants to Open University graduates to assist them to undertake postgraduate research projects“. The charity is funded by members’ donations, covenants, legacies, gift aid and finally interest from our savings. We are always looking for ways in which to continue to fund our charity. If you can help please contact us.


Research Awards

AOUG Foundation for Education Research Awards are given annually….read more

Awards in the Regions and Nations

The AOUG offers Awards to graduates in the Regions and Nations….read more


The AOUG offers occasional Bursaries to recognise a research student in their final year….read more

AOUG Research Award Ceremonies

Every year the AOUG’s charity, AOUG Foundation for Education, offers a number of Awards to students….read more


Supporting the AOUG Foundation for Education Charity. Donations to the AOUG charity allow AOUG to follow its aims….read more

AOUG Vice-Chancellor Sir John Horlock Award for Science

John Horlock served as Vice-Chancellor at The Open University from 1981 to 1990. He was born in North London and went to school at Edmonton Latymer. He had decided … more.

AOUG Baroness Lee of Asheridge Award for Maths, Computing and Technology

Jennie Lee was born in Lochgelly, Fife. She was active in the Labour Party, became an MP in 1929 and following Labour’s win in the 1964 General Election, chaired the Parliamentary… more.

AOUG Chancellor Lord Asa Briggs Award for Arts

Asa Briggs, Baron Briggs, was born in Keighley, an industrial town on the edge of the moors in Yorkshire. He has become one of Britain’s most distinguished historians, with a wide range of… more.

AOUG Vice-Chancellor Lord Perry of Walton Award for Social Science

Walter Laing MacDonald Perry (deceased) was born in Dundee, educated at Ayr Academy, Dundee High School, and the University of St. Andrews, where he gained MB, ChB (1943), MD (1948) and DSc (1958) and was the first Vice-Chancellor… more.

AOUG Vice-Chancellor Sir John Daniel Award for Education and Language Studies

John Daniel served as The Open University’s Vice-Chancellor from 1990 to 2001. He was born in Surrey in 1942. After stints in Lancashire and Oxfordshire, he read Metallurgy at Oxford University … more.

AOUG Chancellor Baroness Boothroyd Award for Citizenship, Identities and Governance

Baroness Boothroyd was Chancellor of The Open University from 1995 to 2006. She was born in Dewsbury, Yorkshire, to textile workers……read more.

AOUG Vice-Chancellor Professor Brenda Gourley Award for Business Studies

Professor Brenda Gourley was Vice Chancellor of The Open University from 2002 to 2009 and before that she occupied the same position at one of South Africa’s largest universities, the University of Natal… more.

AOUG Vic Finkelstein Award for Health and Social Care

Vic Finkelstein, (now deceased) was a ‘giant’ of the disability movement and credited with putting The Open University at the forefront of teaching and thinking about disability. He was born in South Africa and his experience of apartheid… more.

AOUG Will Swann Award for Innovation and Knowledge Development

Will Swann MBE, was Director Students at The Open University until his retirement in 2013 and was awarded an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours, in 2014, for his services to higher education……read more.

AOUG Jubilee Award for Mathematics & Computing

The Jubilee Award for Mathematics and Computing was established in 1991. There were only four winners of this Award with 2006 being the final year that the Jubilee ……read more.

AOUG Foundation for Education Research Awards 2023